Phase I Clinical Research Team

Members of the Phase I Team carefully evaluate their patients for potential treatment on clinical trials. Members of this program represent different clinical sub specialties and work as a team by discussing together best treatment options for individual patients and the progress of such patients while on study. This activity takes place at bi-monthly Thursday afternoon meetings. Also discussed are potential new trials and program progress.

Phase I Team


Principal Investigator:
Linda Garland, MD
Director of Phase I Program
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
Phone: (520) 626-3434
E-mail: LGarland@azcc.arizona.edu

Nurse Practitioner:
Sandy Kurtin, NP
Phone: (520) 694-9047
E-mail: sandy.kurtin@uahealth.com

IRB Coordinators:
Kelly Wallen
Phone: (520) 626-1155
E-Mail: kwallen@uacc.arizona.edu

Lorraine Rudzitis
Phone: (520) 626-1183
E-mail: lrudzitis@azcc.arizona.edu

Research Nurse:
Kathy Schmidt, RN
Phone: (520) 694-9087
E-mail: kschmidt@uacc.arizona.edu

Clinical Research Coordinators/Data Managers:
Jeanette Cardenas, BS, CCRC
Phone: (520) 694-9082
E-mail: jcardenas@azcc.arizona.edu

Alisa Powell
Phone: (520) 694-9048
E-Mail: apowell@uacc.arizona.edu

Yrma Burruel, CCRP
Phone: (520) 694-9081
E-mail: yburruel@azcc.arizona.edu

PK Technician:
Omar Peru
Phone: (520)-694-6078
E-mail: operu@azcc.arizona.edu