Better Than Ever 2009-2010 Grant Award Winners

Better Than Ever 2009-2010 Grant Award Winners

Better Than Ever (BTE) is a fitness training and fundraising program designed to help people make walking, running or biking a regular part of their lives. The program also raises funds to support pilot projects and collaborative research projects focusing on breast and gynecologic cancers under the umbrella of Women’s Cancers at the Arizona Cancer Center. We are very grateful for the support of our BTE program participants.

Each year, the BTE Scientific Review Committee, led by Setsuko K. Chambers, MD, chooses recipients for these grants. We had an unprecedented number of applications this year. In this time of economic downturn and increased need for bridge funding, Women’s Cancers more than doubled the total amount of research funding made available by the BTE program. We are pleased that the $210,000 distributed this year brings the 9 year grant distribution total to more than $1.5 million. The following awarded grants for 2009-2010 will each receive funding ranging from $20,000 to $40,000. We congratulate each of the recipients. 

2009-2010 Grant Award Winners

  • Setsuko K. Chambers, MD; Patrick W. Mantyh, PhD, JD
    A Model for Human Breast Cancer-induced Bone Pain
  • Vince Guerriero, PhD
    A Paradigm Shift Leads to a New Treatment for Breast Cancer
  • Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH
    Assessment of Clinical Efficacy Utilizing Telepathology for Paps

  • Wenxin Zheng, MD
    Detection of Endometrial Serous Carcinoma in its Early Form or Precancer Stage

  • Marlys Witte, MD; Baldassarre Stea, MD, PhD
    Radiation Damage and Radioprotection from Lymphedema and Other Vascular Complications in Women’s Cancers: An In Vitro and Clinical Observational Study

  • Kimberly McDermott, PhD
    The Role of Primary Cilia in Breast Cancer Progression
  • Mark Nelson, PhD; Todd Vanderah, PhD; Patrick Mantyh, PhD, JD
    Control of Breast Cancer Bone Metastasis by CB2 Receptor Agonist

Learn more about each of the 2009-2010 grant award winners.