News Stories

Nineteen Arizona Cancer Center members have been awarded a total of $4 million in federal National Institutes of Health stimulus grants through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Elizabeth Jacobs, PhD; George Watts, PhD; and David S. Alberts, MD

The Arizona Cancer Center congratulates three of its researcher/members and a community advisory board member on being selected as winners of the Tucson-area 40 Under 40 awards, which honor young community leaders.

Dr. Chambers

Setsuko K. Chambers, MD, director of Women’s Cancers at the Arizona Cancer Center has been elected a member of the prestigious Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.

Partnership for Native American Cancer Prevention logo

The Partnership for Native American Cancer Prevention (NACP) has been awarded a $15.7 million grant from the National Cancer Institute to continue developing sustainable solutions to cancer disparities among Native Americans.

Mark D. Gilbert, MD, has been named director of clinical professional development at the Arizona Cancer Center.

Alfred M. Cohen

Alfred M. Cohen, MD, has been named surgical director at the Arizona Cancer Center and will guide the Department of Surgery oncologists.

The Arizona Cancer Center’s popular public lecture series – delivered by world-class Arizona Cancer Center physicians and researchers – provide the latest findings in cancer prevention, detection, research and treatment for a number of cancers.

Get an inside look at the workings of a premier comprehensive cancer center. Learn about the latest advances in cancer prevention, diagnosis and treatment and visit a working research laboratory for hands-on demonstrations and presentations.

The Arizona Cancer Center's Skin Cancer Institute is partnering with the Melanoma International Foundation to host the Safe from the Sun Walkathon for Melanoma Awareness on Saturday, Oct. 10. Visit to learn more and register for the event.

Peter D. Baird

Peter D. Baird, a Phoenix attorney and former Arizona Cancer Center board member and chair, has died of leukemia. Peter is remembered by his friends at the Cancer Center as a devoted fundraiser for cancer research and fun-loving showman who lived his life with joy.