News Stories

Arizona Cancer Center Director David S. Alberts, MD, is joining the board of directors of the Associaton of American Cancer Institutes.

Arizona Cancer Center Director David S. Alberts, MD, has been selected to receive the Associaton of Community Cancer Centers' 2010 Clinical Research Award at the group's National Oncology Economics Conference in St. Louis.

The loss of a gene known as INPP5A could predict the onset and track the progression of an aggressive type of skin cancer, according to a study published today by the Arizona Cancer Center, Mayo Clinic and the Translational Genomics Research Institute (TGen).

The National Cancer Institute has awarded Arizona Cancer Center researchers more than $1.7 million for a five-year study into an aggressive form of breast cancer that strikes women after pregnancy.

Elena Martínez, PhD

Elena Martínez, PhD, co-director of the Arizona Cancer Center’s Cancer Prevention and Control Program, has been appointed to a five-year term on the National Cancer Institute’s Board of Scientific Advisors.

A generous grant from the Safeway Foundation will support the Arizona Cancer Center's participation in the national I-SPY 2 breast cancer drug trial.

Day of Discovery is a free, annual open house that provides a fascinating look at what the Arizona Cancer Center is doing to prevent and cure cancer.

Therese Berg

In 1995, Therese Berg honored the memory of her late husband, Robert Berg, by giving a charitable gift annuity to the Arizona Cancer Center. That and subsequent gift annuities for the Cancer Center will ultimately create the Robert L. Berg Fellowship Endowment for Research in the Cancer Biology Doctoral Program.

Jesse D. Martinez, PhD

The Cancer Biology Graduate Interdisciplinary Program is under new management. G. Timothy Bowden, PhD, the graduate program director since 1992, retired in June, and Jesse D. Martinez, PhD, UA professor of cell biology and anatomy and radiation oncology, took over the position.

Samantha Kendrick and Laurence Hurley, PhD

Samantha Kendrick made a scientific discovery, won a competitive award and smashed a gender barrier all while completing her doctoral degree.