News Stories

Ana María López, MD, MPH, FACP

The community is invited to the pink carpet premiere of Woman to Woman: Let’s Talk about Breast Cancer / Mujer a Mujer: Una Conversación Sobre Cáncer de Seno, a documentary funded by the Susan G. Komen for the Cure of Southern Arizona. Both premieres, the Spanish version on Aug. 28 and the English version on Oct. 30, will be held at 2 p.m. in DuVal Auditorium at University Medical Center, 1501 N. Campbell Ave. The premieres are free and open to the public.


Joyce A. Schroeder, PhD

Joyce A. Schroeder, PhD, an Arizona Cancer Center member, has been awarded a US patent for a first-in-class breast cancer treatment.

Three new faculty members have joined the Department of Radiation Oncology at the UA College of Medicine and the Arizona Cancer Center.

The University of Arizona Cancer Center is opening a study of a drug that may help prevent breast cancer in postmenopausal women who are at risk for developing breast cancer.

Arizona Cancer Center researcher Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD, will address data collection methods at the World Cancer Congress in Shenzhen, China.

Emmanuelle J. Meuillet, PhD

The National Cancer Institute has awarded a five-year, $1,784,878 grant to an Arizona Cancer Center researcher to study the role of inflammation in colon carcinogenesis and to develop a new targeted therapy to treat colon cancer.

A synthetic hormone developed at the University of Arizona has been shown to offer relief for a rare skin disease in international clinical studies.

Arizona Cancer Center physicians Margaret Miller, MD, and Thomas Miller, MD, will participate in the 15th annual North American Educational Forum on Lymphoma in September.

Emad Elquza, MD

Emad Elquza, MD, has been named medical director at Arizona Cancer Center at UMC Orange Grove.

Francisco Garcia, MD, MPH

The National Institutes of Health Advisory Committee on Research on Women’s Health appointed Arizona Cancer Center member Francisco Garcia, MD, MPH, as one of five new members.