News Stories

Patients can now receive cutting-edge radiation oncology treatment in a convenient northwest-side location thanks to a 12,000-square-foot expansion at The University of Arizona Cancer Center - Orange Grove.

The Arizona Board of Regents Thursday approved construction of the University of Arizona Cancer Center clinic in Phoenix.

The Friday before Memorial Day – the traditional start of the summer season – has been designated “Don't Fry Day” to encourage people to enjoy the outdoors safely by protecting skin from overexposure to the sun’s damaging UV rays.

The City of Phoenix will invest $14 million in the Arizona Cancer Center's new outpatient facility, planned for the downtown Phoenix Biomedical Campus.

The Arizona Cancer Center and UA College of Medicine are participating extensively in this week's 4th International Symposium on Cancer Metastasis and the Lymphovascular System: Basis for Rational Therapy in New York.

$80,000 will fund investigations into the topics of colon cancer metastasis, tumor suppression of breast cancer and the mapping and modeling of tumor heterogeneity.

Representatives of the Arizona Cancer Center's Skin Cancer Institute are presenting a variety of the institute's innovative skin cancer programs at the the 1st International Conference on UV and Skin Cancer Prevention in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Arizona Cancer Center researchers Thomas Miller, MD, and Daruka Mahadevan, MD, PhD, have been selected as the 2011 recipients of the Sydney E. Salmon, MD, awards.

The Phoenix Friends Scholars, an initiative of the Phoenix Friends of the Arizona Cancer Center, supports world-class physician-scientists who show extraordinary potential for significantly advancing cancer treatments. The 2010 Phoenix Friends Scholars are Ravitharan “Ravi” Krishnadasan, MD, Mark "Marty" Pagel, PhD, and Karen Weihs, MD.

Daruka Mahadevan, MD, PhD

New therapies for treating non-Hodgkin’s lymphomas are joining tried and tested therapies, but there needs to be an understanding of how rational combinations match within the “hallmarks of cancer,” according to the AZCC's Daruka Mahadevan, MD, PhD.