News Stories

A free, all day event in Phoenix at St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center is geared toward ovarian cancer survivors, friends, family members and others.

Lisa M. Rimsza, MD

University of Arizona Cancer Center researcher Lisa M. Rimsza, MD, will study molecular diagnosis and prognosis in aggressive lymphoma with the National Cancer Institute grant.

Charlie Lustman, who lost his upper jaw to a rare cancer, will visit The University of Arizona Cancer Center as part of a nationwide tour to bring hope and love to cancer patients and those who care for them.

Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD, CSO

The most effective cancer prevention therapy can’t be found in a miracle pill or through an expensive series of medical procedures. Cynthia Thomson, PhD, RD, CSO, said the best treatment can be found in the produce section of your local supermarket.

Patricia Thompson, PhD

How do you treat someone who doesn’t have a disease? It’s a question Patricia Thompson, PhD, has spent a lifetime trying to answer.

Tony Ward, Monica Yellowhair and Amanda Tachine

According to the Centers for Disease Control, specifically unique circumstances of culture, location, history and health care produce unique patterns of cancer occurrence among Native Americans. The Partnership for Native American Cancer Prevention (NACP) was established to help alleviate the unequal burden of cancer among Native Americans of the Southwest through research, training and outreach programs.

David S. Alberts, MD, director of The University of Arizona Cancer Center, is implementing a leadership transition plan that calls for a nationwide search for a new director to succeed him when he retires after his many years of distinguished service.

Bruce Alberts, PhD

Bruce Alberts, PhD, two-term president of the National Academy of Sciences and professor emeritus in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of California San Francisco, will discuss “Science and the World’s Future” Thursday, Feb. 2, at 5 p.m. at The University of Arizona Cancer Center, Kiewit Auditorium, 1515 N. Campbell Ave.

The University of Arizona Cancer Center placed No. 1 in a forthcoming study in the Journal of Healthcare Management that assesses U.S. hospital and health system website quality.

Daruka Mahadevan, MD, PhD

A University of Arizona Cancer Center physician-scientist is developing drug combinations to one day treat patients with Aggressive B-cell non-Hodgkin Lymphoma.